Ashtanga Yoga   Ashtanga = 8 limbs   Yoga = to unite

Ashtanga yoga is an athletic form of Hatha yoga and uses Pranayama (breathing exercises), Drishti (gaze) and Bandhas (body locks).

The breathing does the work by synchronizing it with a progressive series of Asanas (yoga postures) which creates severe internal heat and profuse sweating that cleans the muscles and the internal organs.

With regular practise the body will get cleansed from impurities, tensions and blockages.

Strength, balance, endurance and flexibility are practiced both on a physical and mental level.

The 8 limbed path to self realization:

  • Yama (ethical rules towards the living creatures)
  • Niyama (your own life rules)
  • Asana (yoga postures)
  • Pranayama (breathing exercises)
  • Pratyahara (control over the senses)
  • Dharana (concentration)
  • Dhyana (meditation)
  • Samadhi (total harmony)

I did my teachers training in Ashtanga 2009 with “It´s Yoga” in Stockholm. I teach the modified primary series.

“Practise and all will come.”
Sri K. Pattabhi Jois